Technology Accreditation Canada Accredits Architectural and Engineering Technology Program at Thomp

October 7, 2019
On October 4, 2019, Technology Accreditation Canada (TAC) presented faculty at Thompson Rivers University (TRU) a national program accreditation certificate for its Architectural and Engineering Technology program (ARET).

The accreditation involves a rigorous audit of the program, including interviews with employers of graduates, alumni, students and faculty. The audit team noted that employers expressed graduates have a strong foundation of technical skills and the multi-disciplinary exposure is a program strength, which provides graduates with employment opportunities in various sectors of industry. Students and alumni both indicated faculty are highly committed to their success, sharing job postings and supporting the student club by securing industry guest speakers.  

“TAC congratulates Thompson Rivers University on achieving national program accreditation for its Architectural and Engineering Technology program” remarked Richard Stamper, TAC Executive Director.  “This significant achievement demonstrates the University’s leadership and commitment to its students and signifies that the program aligns with the current standards of the profession, which are valued by industry.”
“Being nationally accredited, the Architectural and Engineering Technology Program is now even more in tune with the needs of employers and industry”, commented Dale Parkes, Architect AIBC, Program Co-Coordinator. “It provides further assurance to graduates that what they learn meets or exceeds national technology standards.  ARET graduates are ready for work in the building design and construction management industry across Canada.”

Additionally, accreditation provides graduates of the program an expedited path to professional certification through provincial engineering technology and applied science associations across Canada.


Left to right: James Gu (Senior Lecturer, ARET), Ehsan Ahmed (Lecturer, ARET), Clement Yeh (Lecturer, Faculty of Arts), Dale Parkes (Co-Coordinator, ARET), Richard Stamper (Executive Director, TAC), Mindy Marshall (Lecturer, ARET), Walter Prescott (Co-Coordinator, ARET), Bruce Stevens (Regional Manager, ASTTBC), and Dennis Acreman (Associate Dean of Science, TRU)