Technology Accreditation Canada: The Sole Accrediting Body in Canada

November 15, 2019
Technology Accreditation Canada (TAC) and Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists (CCTT) announce today an agreement to integrate the accreditation services provided by Canadian Technology Accreditation Board (CTAB) with those of TAC.

Under the agreement, TAC will become the sole national accrediting body for Canada’s engineering technology and applied science profession and assume responsibility of all CTAB accredited programs effective today. In consultation with CTAB customers to ensure a seamless transition, the CTAB accredited programs will be converted to the TAC accreditation model within a three year period.

As a result of the integration, Certified Technicians and Technologists Association of Manitoba and four member provinces of CCTT; Island Technology Professionals, TechNova, New Brunswick Society of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists and The Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador, will join TAC as members.  

“We acknowledge CCTT member provinces and CTTAM for their vision and leadership to integrate accreditation services”, commented Peter Portlock, TAC Board of Directors Chair. “This development creates a unique opportunity for TAC to partner with more institutions to support the delivery of the highest quality education to their students, which meets the standards of the engineering technology and applied science profession.” 

The integration results in TAC managing 155 accredited programs, with a trained pool of over 200 auditors. TAC will work with provincial regulators and the International Engineering Alliance, through CCTT, to provide national and international recognition of graduates of all national accredited programs.

“This is a fantastic day for students, educational institutions and industry”, remarked Rick Tachuk, CEO and President of CCTT. “One accrediting body best serves the interests of all stakeholders related to the profession, particularly as it provides a pathway for national and international recognition for graduates of accredited programs”. 

“On behalf of the National Council of Deans of Trades and Technology, we salute the hard work and dedication to student success shown by the integration of TAC and CTAB”, pronounced Michael Sendbuehler, Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology, CEGEP Vanier College and NCDATT Past-President.


Left to right: Kim Pickett, C.E.T., L.E.T., OACETT President; Steve Oszust, C.Tech., TPS President; Donald Wilson, C.E.T., ASET President; Sarah Campden, C.Tech., RTMgr, ASTTBC President; Marea O’Halloran, C.E.T., ITP Vice President; Charles Boucher, P.Tech., NBSCETT President;  Stephen Badcock, A.Sc.T., AETTNL President; Mike MacLean, C.E.T., TechNova President; Peter Portlock, Chair, TAC Board of Directors; and Andrew Procca, C.E.T., CTTAM President