Page Tools


In general, an engineering technologist receives a broad range of applied science and applied mathematics training, as well as the fundamentals of engineering in the student's area of focus. Engineering technology programs typically include instruction in various engineering support functions for research, production, and operations, and applications to specific engineering specialties.

Engineering sciences include thermodynamics, heat transfer, fluid mechanics, statics, dynamics, mechanics of materials, kinematics, electromagnetism, materials science, earth sciences, engineering physics. Medical sciences, for instance medical microbiology and its clinical virology, are applied sciences that apply biology toward medical knowledge and inventions, but not necessarily medical technology, whose development is more specifically biomedicine or biomedical engineering.

Educational Institutions

There are over 100 educational institutions across Canada that offer over 400 different engineering technology and applied science programs.

Why Accreditation Matters?

Accreditation is proof that a college program has met an educational standard essential to producing graduates ready to enter their profession.

Student-Icon_(003).jpg Students

Provides confidence that your education will help you enter your profession and pave an easier path to professional designations.

Programs-Icon.jpg Program & Institution-Icon.jpg Institution

Demonstrates your commitment to delivering quality education to your students.

World-Icon_(003).jpg Industry, Government & the World

Employers can trust that graduates are prepared to enter the workforce.

TAC National Accredited Programs

TAC grants national program accreditation status to an engineering technology and applied science program that has  educational standards of Canada's engineering technology progression.

For a list of TAC national accredited programs, click on the image below.


National Standards (CTAC)

Canadian Technology Accreditation Criteria (CTAC) are a set of general and discipline specific learning outcomes for each engineering technology and applied science discipline. 

There are eight (8) program general learning outcomes, found in the technician and technologist Program General Learning Outcome CTAC (PGLOY & PGLON). The outcomes for each discpline are found in the Program Discipline Learning Outcome CTACs (PDLO).

Each PGLO and PDLO contains a number of Learning Outcome Indicators (LOIs), which are examples, illustrating, defining and clarifying the level of performance to be achieved. Some LOIs have additional sub-points which are indicated in italics. 

CTAC are used by accreditation bodies, provincial professional associations, educational institutions, government agencies, industry and others for the purposes accreditation, certification and other. TAC uses CTAC in the auditing of engineering technology and applied science programs for the purpose of national program accreditation.