Standards Council


The Standards Council (SC) ensures the development and maintenance of national standards to be used for accreditation and in support of the Professional Provincial Association certification process. The Council is the conduit for information and issues related to the development and revision of the national standards.

Reporting Structure

The Standards Council reports to the Board. 


  • Provide oversight and leadership related to the national standards in collaboration with industry, educational institutions academia and other technical experts in collaboration with the PPAs
  • Develop for Board approval clear processes and procedures for new standards development and the maintenance of existing standards
  • Support the Executive Director with developing and present to the Board, an annual business plan with standards development priorities and budget
  • Establish discipline-specific Standards Development Committees as required
  • Endorse or request clarification relating to new or revised national standards presented by a Standards Development Committee
  •  Validate requests for proposed alternative standards and assign to committees, where appropriate
  • Act as the conduit for the Board for information and issues related to the updating and development of new national standards
  • Implement and manage a communications protocol to ensure that the PPAs and other stakeholders are informed on standards issues, including additions, changes or deletions to the national standards


  • all participating provincial certifying body registrars  
  • One representative from a post-secondary educational institution
  • One representative from Canadian Society for Chemical Technology (CSCT)
  • Executive Director or designate, ex-officio (not voting)

Council Members

  • Barry Billing, Registrar, Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists
  • Jaime Feltis, Registrar, Technology Professionals Saskatchewan
  • Patrick Kelly, Dean, School of Engineering Technology and Applied Science, Centennial College
  • Troy Livingstone, Registrar, Island Technology Professionals
  • Melanie Leaf, Registrar, Association of Science & Engineering Technology Professionals of Alberta
  • Bob Okabe, Registrar, Certified Technicians and Technologists Association of Manitoba (Chair)
  • Dave Sheaves, Registrar, New Brunswick Society of Certified Engineering Technicians & Technologists
  • Joe Simms, Registrar, TechNova
  • Kevin Soulsbury, Chemical Society for Chemistry Representative
  • Michael Thain Registrar, Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia
  • Gary Tulk, Registrar, Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Muktha Tumkur, Executive Director, Technology Accreditation Canada (non-voting)