Who We Are

Technology Accreditation Canada (TAC) is a bold, world class accreditation organization, delivering accreditation services for the engineering technology and applied science profession in Canada. 

TAC was created by Technology Professionals Canada (TPC) in direct response to findings made by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) after performing a comprehensive, independent review of technology accreditation practices that existed at the time measured against best practices from other jurisdictions and sectors.

With the guidance of CSA, extensive national consultations were conducted across the country, including western Canada, Ontario and the Maritimes with input from numerous college deans of technology, the Canadian Technology Accreditation Board (CTAB) and other stakeholders. Following research and feedback from these consultations, CSA developed a report with recommendations to TPC on how to best serve the interests of its membership going forward.

CSA identified opportunities for enhancement in the accreditation system, including clear, auditable processes and documentation, standards development, and training of auditors. Based on the recommendations of this December 2011 report, TPC established a Provisional Committee with a mandate and budget to deliver a new organization called TAC. Representatives from the TPC provincial associations, Council of Registrars, CTAB, industry and National Council of Deans of Technology (NCDoT) were invited to participate in the TAC development process.

TAC was incorporated federally on December 30, 2013. The founding members of the corporation are:  Association of Science and Engineering Technology Professionals of Alberta (ASET); Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of British Columbia (ASTTBC); Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists (OACETT); and Technology Professionals Saskatchewan (TPS), formerly Saskatchewan Applied Science Technologists and Technicians (SASTT).

The Unanimous Members Agreement was signed on March 28, 2014 by the presidents of the four founding members and the Chair of the TAC Board.  

Left to right: Stephen Morley, C.E.T., President, OACETT, Steve Oszust, C.Tech., President, SASTT, Martine Band, LL.B., Chair, TAC, Kevin Harrison, P.Tech. (Eng.), President, ASET, David Rutherford, A.Sc.T., President, ASTTBC

On November 12, 2019, TAC welcomed five new members; Association of Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Newfoundland and Labrador (AETTNL), Certified Technicians and Technologists of Manitoba (CTTAM) Island Technology Professionals (ITP), New Brunswick Society of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists (NBSCETT) and TechNova.

On November 15, 2019 an agreement was signed with Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists to integrate the accreditation services of the Canadian Technology Accreditation Board (CTAB), whereby TAC assumed responsibility of all CTAB accredited programs.

Left to right: Kim Pickett, C.E.T., L.E.T., OACETT President; Steve Oszust, C.Tech., TPS President; Donald Wilson, C.E.T., ASET President; Sarah Campden, C.Tech., RTMgr, ASTTBC President; Marea O’Halloran, C.E.T., ITP Vice President; Charles Boucher, P.Tech., NBSCETT President; Stephen Badcock, A.Sc.T., AETTNL President; Mike MacLean, C.E.T., TechNova President; Peter Portlock, Chair, TAC Board of Directors; and Andrew Procca, C.E.T., CTTAM President